Rustic Midsummer Concert

Hosted By: McCall Wines
Event Date: Sunday, August 14th, 2022
Event Time: 6:00 PM
Learn more about this event

Centered around American composer Perry Goldstein’s multifaceted Quintet for Clarinet and String Quartet (2006), this program traverses the music from Eastern Europe to the US and its spiritual and folkloric origins. Stravinsky’s Three Pieces for Solo Clarinet (1918) is a kaleidoscopic masterpiece inspired by jazz and ragtime, Bartok’s Duos for Two Violins (1931) are based on his fieldwork of collecting tunes from Hungary and its neighboring countries, and Florence Price, a pioneer African American composer, features folksongs and spirituals in her “Five Folksongs in Counterpoint” (1951).